BEDFORM. Kapwani Kiwanga
Kapwani Kiwanga, BEDFORM, Messingrelief auf Stahlrahmen, im Rahmen von THE GATE, IMAGINE THE CITY, Dar-es-Salaam-Platz, Foto: Laura Léglise
Kapwani Kiwanga, BEDFORM, Messingrelief auf Stahlrahmen, im Rahmen von THE GATE, IMAGINE THE CITY, Dar-es-Salaam-Platz, Foto: Laura Léglise
For almost four months now, the brass relief BEDFORM has been complementing the composition of Dar-es-Salaam-Platz. Named after the youngest of Hamburg's nine twin cities in Tanzania, the square marks a central entrance to HafenCity and thus also functions as an important station on THE GATE's art walk.

The geometric shapes of the relief represent the loading cranes of four historic cargo ships of the former shipping company Deutsche Ost-Afrika Linie, which operated between Hamburg and the African port city from 1890 to 1945. Kiwanga has retained the proportions of the respective ship plans, that is, she has isolated the outlines, simplified them, and put them together to form a composition by rotating or superimposing them. The shiny material sets itself apart from the concrete and brick surroundings, documents the traces of the weather and the environment and reflects what is happening in public space.
While traditional reliefs passed on history through the depiction of concrete situations, the artist places the sometimes invisible, but no less real, economic, cultural and social references into the picture as abstract representations. In the tension between revealing and concealing, BEDFORM refers to the historical and contemporary trade relations between the two places and recalls Hamburg as the “gateway” for goods and resources from other countries - including Africa - to Europe. The work departs from the historic trade routes between Tanzania and Germany. At the same time, it sees itself as a metaphor for the invisibility of this trade relationship and it’s power imbalance where resources were taken from a foreign territory for the development of Hamburg and Europe.
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Kapwani Kiwanga (*1978 in Hamilton, Canada) lives and works in Paris. As a trained anthropologist and social scientist, she often takes on the role of a researcher in her installations, performances, sound and video works, consciously intertwining truth and fiction to challenge dominant historical or political narratives and suggest alternative approaches to discussion.


Part of the culture program related to Canada’s Guest of Honour presentation at the Frankfurt Book Fair in 2020/21, BEDFORM is Kiwanga's first major project in public space. It is supported by the Canada Council for the Arts and the Government of Canada. The artist talk is supported by the Bureau des arts plastiques of the French Institute Germany and the French Culture Minister.
Back
Location Dar-es-Salaam-Platz
Dar-es-Salaam-Platz,
20457 Hamburg, Germany
View on Maps
Kapwani Kiwanga
Instagram

BEDFORM. Kapwani Kiwanga
Kapwani Kiwanga, BEDFORM, Messingrelief auf Stahlrahmen, im Rahmen von THE GATE, IMAGINE THE CITY, Dar-es-Salaam-Platz, Foto: Laura Léglise
Kapwani Kiwanga, BEDFORM, Messingrelief auf Stahlrahmen, im Rahmen von THE GATE, IMAGINE THE CITY, Dar-es-Salaam-Platz, Foto: Laura Léglise
Seit bald vier Monaten ergänzt das Messing-Relief BEDFORM die Gestaltung des Dar-es-Salaam-Platzes. Benannt nach der jüngsten der neun Partnerstädte Hamburgs in Tansania, markiert der Platz einen zentralen Eingang in die HafenCity und fungiert damit auch als wichtige Station auf dem Kunstparcours von THE GATE.

Die geometrischen Formen des Reliefs stellen die Lastenkräne von vier historischen Frachtschiffen der ehemaligen Reederei Deutsche Ost-Afrika Linie dar, die von 1890 bis 1945 zwischen Hamburg und der afrikanischen Hafenstadt verkehrte. Kiwanga hat die Proportionen der jeweiligen Schiffspläne beibehalten, das heißt, sie hat die Umrisse isoliert, vereinfacht und durch Drehung beziehungsweise Überlagerung zu einer Komposition zusammengefügt. Das glänzende Material setzt sich von der in Beton und Backstein gehaltenen Umgebung ab, dokumentiert die Spuren von Wetter und Umwelt und spiegelt das Geschehen im öffentlichen Raum.
Während traditionelle Reliefs Geschichte durch die Abbildung konkreter Situationen überlieferten, setzt die Künstlerin die mitunter unsichtbaren, aber dadurch nicht weniger realen wirtschaftlichen, kulturellen und sozialen Bezüge als abstrakte Darstellung ins Bild. In der Spannung von Enthüllen und Verbergen verweist BEDFORM auf die historischen und bis in die Gegenwart reichenden Handelsbeziehungen zwischen beiden Orten und erinnert an Hamburg als „Tor“ für Waren und Ressourcen aus anderen Ländern – einschließlich Afrika – nach Europa. Die Arbeit geht von den historischen Handelsrouten zwischen Tansania und Deutschland aus. Zugleich versteht sie sich als Metapher für die Unsichtbarkeit dieser Handelsbeziehungen und ihr Machtungleichgewicht, wo Ressourcen eines fremden Territoriums für die Entwicklung Hamburgs und Europas eingesetzt wurden.
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Kapwani Kiwanga wurde 1976 in Hamilton, Kanada, geboren. Aktuell lebt und arbeitet sie in Paris. Als ausgebildete Anthropologin und Sozialwissenschaftlerin nimmt sie in ihren Installationen, Performances, Sound- und Videoarbeiten vielfach die Rolle einer Forscherin ein, wobei sie Wahrheit und Fiktion bewusst ineinander verschränkt, um dominierende historische oder politische Narrative herauszufordern und alternative Diskussionsansätze vorzuschlagen.


Das Projekt von Kapwani Kiwanga ist Teil von Kanadas Kulturprogramm als Ehrengast der Frankfurter Buchmesse 2020/21. Es wird unterstützt durch das Canada Council for the Arts und die Regierung von Kanada. Das Künstlergespräch wird unterstützt durch das Bureau des arts plastiques des Institut français Deutschland und des französischen Kulturministers. Logos, logo Triennale
Zurück
Standort Dar-es-Salaam-Platz
Dar-es-Salaam-Platz,
20457 Hamburg, Germany
Karte anschauen
Kapwani Kiwanga
Instagram